ashes and alchemy

To my friends who have dared to confide in me, I thank you. I thank you for trusting me with your stories, with your pain.

Many times I have sat silently while you open up your wounds and let me see inside. Many times my heart has broken when I realise that it is an image I have seen before. A story that is all too familiar. I want to hug you with the hugs of those before you. I want you to hear their stories and know that you are not alone. But I sit silently while you open up your wounds. I sit silently as you let me see inside.

Because how can I comfort when I really want to scream?

When I want to grab your hand and align it with theirs?

When I want to bring all your souls together and perform alchemy with your sorrows?  Remember, ashes give life to dead earth.

To my friends who have dared to confide in me. To you who have been hated, abused, violated and broken. Know that you are not alone.

Know that you need not be silent nor ashamed of your silence.

Know that behind the silence is a storm.

– nathania

Leave a Reply

