Night songs

I.

We talked for hours
On our backs, we spoke futures into being
Your fears found their voice
And with mine, made harmony
We listen to the birds stir
And smile
Knowing our secret will be
Kept safe for the night.

II.

Cigarettes and lanterns
Tepid glows of digital clocks
Constellations mixed with airplanes
Rage meets hope
These are the lights
That dance across our eyes
These are the lights
That envelope us tonight

I. + II.

You are nothing like him
And I love you for it
The lies I told myself until I
Remembered that I am drawn to wounded souls
Pain is my aphrodisiac

II. + I.

You make me write again
Maybe there is healing in this fire

-nathania

 Featured image found on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

